Yoga Nadis- The Three Main Nadis- Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna

yoga nadis

In Sanskrit, Nadi is simply translated to ‘tube’ or ‘channel’. However, in the subtle body, Yoga Nadis are a medium through which energy flows. As far as Kundalini Shakti is concerned, it flows from the bottom to the top of your head. You can say it flows through Yoga Nadis from the root chakra to the crown chakra. Out of 72,000 yoga Nadis, there are three primary yoga Nadis you should know about.

Ida, Pingala, & Sushumna are the three major subtle Yoga Nadis. Let’s have a brief understanding of each yoga Nadi to have a better grasp of the matter. But before that, let’s first learn about Yoga Nadis. Read on.

What are Yoga Nadis?

Ayurveda and other life sciences believe in the life force such as prana. Moreover, the overall well-being of a person depends on an efficient flow of this prana shakti throughout the body. Thus, the subtle pathways through which energy or prana shakti moves through your body are known as Yoga Nadis.

The efficiency of the flow of energy depends on how strong, pure, or clean your Nadis are. Therefore, the energy flow is blocked whenever the pathways are not clear and that causes various physical and mental issues.

Ida Nadi

Also known as the left channel, Ida Nadi signifies the ‘lunar energy channel’. The Ida Nadi has a feminine character. Being passive in nature, Ida Nadi is the yin energy of the pranic body. Ida Nadi emerges out of the left side of the spine and goes up and crosses Pingala Nadi at the third eye chakra.

Ida Nadi is concerned with the mental energy in your body. Linked to the moon, white color is the symbol of the Ida Nadi.

Pingala Nadi

In contrast to Ida Nadi, Pingala Nadi is the right energy channel. Being active in nature, Pingala Nadi has a masculine character. Furthermore, the Pingala Nadi symbolizes the ‘solar energy channel’. Furthermore, it is the yang energy of the pranic body.

Pingala Nadi flows to the right side of the body and works in complement to the Ida Nadi. The birth of the Pingala Nadi is at the base of your spine at the right side. It moves up to the crown chakra and crosses Ida Nadi at the third eye chakra.

Sun is the symbol of Pingala Nadi. Hence, the red color denotes its presence. People having dominant Pingala Nadi are upfront, creative, and outspoken.

Also Read:- Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh

Sushumna Nadi

Being neutral in nature, Sushumna Nadi is one of the most gracious Nadis in the human body. Located in the center of the spine, it supports Ida and Pingala. It begins at the base of the spine and goes up to the crown chakra.

Both Ida and Pingala Nadis coil around the Sushumna Nadi before intersecting at the third eye chakra. The Sushumna Nadi strikes a perfect balance between both the yoga Nadis.

Also Read:- Best Yoga Mudra Asanas

How to Active Yoga Nadis

To activate the yoga Nadis, you need to clean and purify them. Thus, different methods are there to facilitate you with the cleansing of the yoga Nadis. One such method is Swara Yoga.

Swara Yoga

This method works by using vibrations of your breath. When you sit and focus on your breath, you learn about how your breath flows through your body. Further, Swara yoga helps you learn about the different effects of breathing on your body and mind.

To activate the Pingala Nadi, you breathe in and out through your right nostril. Similarly, to activate the Ida Nadi, breathing in and out through your left nostril helps you. In the case of Sushumna Nadi, an equilibrium achieved with the activation of smaller Nadis (Nadikas) attached to Ida and Pingala Yoga Nadis help you out.

With the activation of Sushumna Nadi, the Kundalini shakti awakens. That flows from your root chakra to your crown chakra and has numerous benefits.


Yoga Nadis have both major and minor benefits. Now, to incorporate them into your yoga practice, you should include different types of Pranayama exercises into your routine. It not only purifies your Nadis but also enhances your yoga practice. Over time, you have abundant energy flowing through your body that improves your overall wellness.

Read More:- What is Yoga Alliance Certification